Believing is Agreeing


Wow, I really haven’t been on here in a long time…

Sorry for not posting in almost a month or something like that. It’s been kinda crazy around here. I had relatives over for awhile, there were events and things that happened and I think I’ve forgotten how to blog now…

Oh wait, I never knew how to blog in the first place. 

Oops, my mistake…

Anyway.

Hope all my readers are enjoying summer break (if you’re let out)…. Unfortunately for me, I have some things to catch up on, so I’ll be doing math and other ugly highschool things during the summer…

#fun

not

So, on to the actual post… I haven’t had a mainly writing focused post in awhile so here it goes…

Might I quickly say that I am officially back? (!) 

 (Am I? I seem to have misplaced my brain somewhere… but I don’t think I had one in the first place… so nevermind.)


 

I’m gonna say, right off the bat, that being a writer is to have power.

(Go break out the Darth Vader helmets and pretend you have breathing difficulties.)

You: “Well, duh, yeah, writers have power.”

Don’t throw this post out just yet. Yes, I know that we all learned in English that writers have the power to persuade and to make arguments and present opinions.

So what on earth do I mean by “Believing is Agreeing”?

Did I choose the title just to sound interesting and because it kinda went together?

Ha ha ha…maybe

Okay. Let me lay it out for you.

Writers have to base their stories off of something, right?

You might be saying that it’s the agenda or character or emotional sidestory.

Which are all great things to point out and yes, you SHOULD base your story off of them.

But there is one more thing that HAS to be included.

The audience has to believe. The audience has to believe that it’s real, that it’s interesting, that it’s accepted.

Here’s what I’m getting at: If you have a main character with green skin and purple hair, you want your audience to believe that that is normal…

In real life, if you saw someone walking around that had green skin and purple hair and orange eyes and flames bursting out of their feet, you would run away and hide in your bedroom and probably be tramautized.

In a book, however, you (as the writer) have the power to erase the side effects and make your character acceptable and normal. If you do your job right, the audience will open the book and read about your green monster without blinking twice.

That’s the power of a writer.

You can stick whatever in a book and make it work. Because guess what? If the audience believes it’s realistic, then the audience agrees with your book.

It’s that simple. See, believing is agreeing.

Not such a bad title after all, huh?

Baaaack on topic…

You see this kinda stuff everywhere: books, movies, magazines, blogs, comics, etc.

And it works. If you make it real in your book, people will believe it’s real and not get creeped out when they read about it.

But as we all know… “Great power comes with great responsibility.” Blah blah blah.

For real, though.

As a writer, you need to be careful with what you are presenting as acceptable or normal in your books. Just because you have the power to make your audience believe, doesn’t necessarily mean that you should. Don’t take whatever idea or agenda or character you have in your head and assume that it would be fine to make it into a real thing.

Examine each little bit and ask yourself if it’s right to have people believe in it.

Too many creators abuse that power. It’s a power that shouldn’t be taken lightly.

Use it to do good, to make people believe in and agree with something beneficial and interesting.

And don’t ignore this power either. It’s not something you have to consciously employ in your writing. Literally, you will be striving to make people believe in anything you write.

Because, duh, that’s what a book is about: you create a story and immerse your readers into your world.

Or in other words, you make them BELIEVE in your world and AGREE that it’s real.

So, don’t shrug this off. Analyze what you’re presenting and see if it’s worthy to have people believe in it.

-monkeyeverything-

 

 

9 thoughts on “Believing is Agreeing

  1. YOU’RE BAAAAAAAAAACK!!!! *tackle hugs*

    And might I just mention that this post was awesome! Having the audience believe is something that I’m trying to wrap my head around more and more lately, especially with the whole ‘sci-fi’ concept of my book. I’m always struggling to make sure that everything is completely plausible in the real world, when all I really need to do is make sure it’s plausible in MY world…

    Writing is so much fun, isn’t it???? HAHAHAHAHAHAHA (*head implodes*)

    Liked by 1 person

    • *Tackle hugs back and hands you a giant singing cookie*

      I’m glad you liked it!!! Yeah, same tho. I think it’s the hardest challenge in writing. You can have an awesome storyline or whatever but if the readers don’t believe in it… LOL #me
      Exaaaaactly. ANd a lot of times people give advice like don’t try anything that wouldn’t work today. Well, news flash, 100 years from now, things might be different and isn’t today boring? Why would we want to replicate it??? XD XD lol.
      Oh yeah, tons. writing completes my life and makes me feel so happy when I can’t FINISH THE END OF MY NOVEL THAT I HAVEN’T WRITTEN SINCE NOVEMBER!!!! *sobbingly laughs*
      Okay i’m done XD ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • YESSSS! Giant singing cookies!!!! *dances with the cookies*

        Haha, that’s #me, though, too! I have a hard time being believable. Or actually knowing whether or not I can make people believe something relatively unbelievable???

        Ugh, yes!!! Exactly! I’d rather have work to create something that is timeless than fit it into today’s normalities.

        Oh my word, I thought you were serious for a moment, and then I got to the bold part and laughed!! 😂 I know exactly how that feels though!!! *sobbingly laughs with you* 😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Lol, I almost went to email you and see if you were okay (#paranoid). 😛 I’m so glad to see you’re still alive!!!
    This is so true!! You definitely need to be careful what you put in your books, since there are going to be people out there who are going to believe it. Nice post!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • So sorry it took me forever to respond to this commet! My emails from wordpress have been getting messed up.

      YES IM STILL ALIVE!!! LOL
      Yes, exactly!!! Too many people don’t care about what they put in a book. They just stick whatever in there and expect it to be okay.
      Thanks so much! And thank you for reading 🙂 ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

