Camp Nano


Am I dead?

No.

Sadly.

Sorry to disappoint.

Unfortunately, I was unable to write  post the short story this past Saturday so until I have time, feel free to comment on any other crazy idea until this coming Saturday IF YOU HAVEN’T ALREADY!! If you already have, then don’t be weird and say to yourself, “Oh looky here, I can spam a blogger’s comment box. Let’s do that because I have no life.” Please don’t be that person. But for all of you who have not commented yet because you probably are sensible and don’t want to, the comments are open still! YAY! UNLIMITED TIME!!! YAY!

Okay nevermind. Just ignore the last few sentences.

AS I WAS SAYING!

I actually am doing Camp Nanowrimo this April. Yes, I already wrote 60k words for my Rebel novel, but I’m still around 20k short. 20k short of words of an ending. I have no idea what I’m doing.

Figures.

Luckily, my dear blogger friend Kenzie decided to invite me into a cabin and motivate me to ruin my life finish my novel!! Yaaaaaaaaay.

I don’t know what I just got myself into.

Oh well!!!!!!

Btw, if you were wondering what Camp Nano is… you’re asking the wrong person. I honestly don’t really know.

Haha, just kidding.

Camp Nano is basically a smaller version of Nano in November… except it’s in April and you don’t need to meet a specific word goal. You can tailor your goals to your needs/desires/whatever. SO let’s say you just want to spend more time writing. You would go to your settings and change your goal to 20 hourse of writing.

See, it doesn’t even have to be words.

Which, to me, doesn’t really make sense, because in order to “win” you could just leave your pages open and watch Sherlock while fiddling with Cheetos. Like, you don’t even have to write….

Okay, back to my topic.

If you need to imagine what Camp Nano is compared to Normal Nano, imagine this:

NN (Normal Nano) is a runner, sweating in the sun, pushing himself to finish his lap. His arms are red from sunburn, his muscles are straining to the point of exhaustion, and his eyes are bloodshot.

Now this is CN (Camp Nano): Imagine a tanned person laying on a hammock, gently swinging in the breeze, fruit punch held in a glass with a pretty little straw. The loafer takes a sip and rests back, idly letting the wind decide his fate.

……….

I really wish it was like that, I really do. Unfortunately, CN is basically a runner who’s just out of shape and stops sooner than the NN runner because he simply can’t go any longer.

Oh well. The analogy was nice, I guess.

So yeah. That’s what I’ve been up to, and since this week was very bare of any substantial posts, I’m going to be very inclusive and generous and have an open question!:

What have you been up to this past week? BE SPECIFIC AND TELL ME YOUR LIFE SO I CAN BE CREEPY AND STALK YOU!

HA!

Just kidding.

Not really.

-monkeyeverything-

12 thoughts on “Camp Nano

  1. I AM GLAD YOU ARE NOT DEAD, DEAR BEAN!!!

    And I actually can’t take the sole happiness for inviting you–even though I’m sort of the weird admin person who has to do the actual inviting??–but what happened was, even though I did send a comment back in March asking if you were doing Camp and possibly if you wanted to join (that comment got lost in the depths of Cyberspace and never sent apparently, lol!) Kate was the one that thought of trying to recruit you a couple days ago! So it was sort of a combined effort??? #confusing

    I don’t even know what I’m trying to say…

    Anyway!!! I am actually tracking by hours, and while it is TRUE that you could just open up a page and twiddle your thumbs while watching Sherlock (which sounds fantastic…) that wouldn’t feel very rewarding in the end, haha! So what I do is set the Word Sprints thing over on the NaNo site for anywhere from 10 minutes to 60, and force myself to either write, edit, read through, or do SOMETHING writing productive while that block of time passes. Of course, sometimes there’s the occasional couple seconds spent searching for word synonyms or the like, but for the most part it works… And I have gotten a LOT of progress done the last couple days. It’s crazy… But I still wish I was tracking by words…

    Oh my word, I LOVE your visuals for Camp NaNo and Normal NaNo!!! They made me laugh out loud!!!! 😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ahhh, I see. LOL sorry about that! I actually never got that comment. It happens somtimes… oh well.
      Ohhhh I so wanna try putting up an hourly goal. That would be something new. I legit haven’t looked at my story in so long because it’s so painful to read. I guess I just have to muster up my courage… AHHHHHH IM FREAKING OUT !
      jk
      LOL aw thannnks!!!!!!! I wish I was on a hammock sipping fruit punch…. instead I’m doing homework. Hah, figures LOL
      Thanks for readinnnng 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh no, it was my fault. My Kindle likes to act up and eat my comments…

        OH NO I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT! It is honestly death and destruction, and so yeah. Don’t do it unless you want to rip your hair out and then claw your eyeballs out of their sockets… OH NO DO NOT FREAK OUT! WE WILL BE FINE! *gives cookies* YOU ARE FINE. I AM FINE. WE ARE FINE!

        Ooh… That sounds nice… I wanna be in a hammock sipping fruit punch too, haha! Aww… That’s lame… 😦 Hopefully we shall find our fruit punch hammocks someday!

        Oh yes, definitely! I love your blog so much! I READ ALL THE THINGS!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Well, ripping my hair out and clawing my eyeballs are both hobbies of mine, so I should fit in nicely with the crowd.
          OK IM BREATHING…. INHALE…. EXHALE
          IM OKAY NOW
          *shoves cookies in mouth*
          Vewy mwuch okway noww
          Awww, thank you!!! I KNOW AND YOU’RE AN AWSOME FOLLOWER!!! Luv ya ❤ ❤ 😉 GOOD LUCK WITH WRITING

          Liked by 1 person

          • Bahahahaha! Oh wow, I thought I was the only one with that particular hobby! It’s good to not be alone! 😛

            Oh good! I’m glad you’re okay now, bahahaha!!!

            AWWWW!!! YOU ARE AN AMAZING BLOGGY FRIEND AND I LOVE YOU TOO! And oh my word, same to you! We all need ALL the luck!!! 😀

            Liked by 1 person

  2. lol. Loved your Camp NaNo/Normal NaNo analogy! I’m doing it this year, but I might have to lower my writing goal because I’m suddenly swamped with school and work and I don’t know where I can find the time to write. Good luck with your project, and I’m looking forward to the short story! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, thank you!!! ❤
      Ohhhh, same tho. I decided to do it, but every time I think about writing, I turn around and I have to do a ton other stuff. #life.
      Thanks, and same to you!!!!! LOL Me too, once I write it
      *guilty shuffling*
      LOL XD

      Like

  3. That analogy was the best😂😂 I’m doing Camp Nano as well, and I’m having a lot of fun so far! My goal is 30,000 words, so it’s not overly ambitious, but I’m still curious to see what happens. We’ll see😂 Good luck with your novel! – Abi

    Liked by 1 person

    • YAY! A NEW PERSON! Welcome!!
      Aw, thanks! I’m glad you’re having fun!! Writing is fun, period, so I mean, camp nano is just loads of fun on top!!
      Hey, well it’s better to get a smaller amount of writing down that is good, than a ton of writing down that is trash lol. My goal is 20k which is kinda average, so believe me 30k is a great goal 😉
      Good luck to you as well, and thank you! ❤

      Like

  4. Hello there, MonkeyEverythingBlog! I noticed you started following my blog. I thought maybe you would like to talk blogging and maybe say what you like about my website so far! If so, here’s my official email: (whitleyscribe@gmail.com) Or we could have a comments war here 😀 – CW

    Like

Leave a Reply

