Movie Reviews, Finally


If you look under one of the  (I can’t keep track of them) pages of my blog, it says that I like movies. This is a true statement. However, it is false to say that you’ve heard a lot about them like you were supposed to. 

#failure

So, after several months of having a public empty promise, I will actually write a review of a something that I watched.

The following does not contain spoilers. I don’t think…. (if you hate, absolutely hate, spoilers with a flaming passion, then to be safe, and to save me a heart attack, do not read.) 


unknown-3

google.com

Sherlock TV Series, Season 1,2,3,4

First off, I would like to make it clear that overall I don’t approve of people taking amazing books and changing them drastically.

I’m a huge fan of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I’ve read his Sherlock Holmes series probably around 1.2 billion times. So when I finally watched the Sherlock TV series, I had very low expectations. It just didn’t sound like it would work to take Sherlock Holmes and place him in modern-day London. It sounded ridiculous.

To be honest, it sounded impossible.

However, after I watched the first episode, I sat on my couch and I tried to comprehend how it had worked.

Really.

How had it worked? Why on earth did I enjoy that episode so much?

It didn’t follow a specific mystery from the books, they actually had cars and electronics, and Sherlock didn’t smoke a pipe.

Despite this, it worked beautifully.

Season 1- A Study in Pink, The Blind Banker, The Great Game

Season 1 of the Sherlock TV series is probably one of my favorites. It’s not a spoiler to tell you that you first meet the characters and you witness the classic first exchange between Dr. Watson and Sherlock Holmes. The writers typed up the script in a way that it’s always moving, it’s never still, and something is always getting done.

There’s always a point.

I’ve seen way too many TV shows and movies where there are scenes where things just don’t happen.

Sherlock is devoid of those scenes. Every shot, every piece of dialogue is there for a purpose. You either learn about the character, hear about the mystery, or discover some fun fact. And there’s never that awkward ugh-let’s-go-get-popcorn-now kinda scenes.

In the first Season, there was definitely more friction between Watson and Sherlock. This is obviously because they haven’t known each other very long, and they’re still getting around to trusting one another completely. Each of the three episodes have that argumentative dialogue that I absolutely adore. Absolutely.

Plot-wise, I have to say that it was very well done. There is a clear beginning and end. There’s stress. There’s tension. There are believable conflicts and bad guys. There are loose strings that keep you hanging until the very end where everything ties up.

And everything does tie up at the end. I hate movies/shows that leave you with like three strings you hold in your hand and that cause you to nearly tear your hair out because you don’t know what to do with them. You don’t have to worry about that with Sherlock.

In Season 1, the episodes are not as dark, if I can use that word (that might not be the right word…). It was definitely geared toward the younger adult crowd. Because of this, you’ll find a lot of references to the books (but probably only references you’ll get if your a fan like me), and a lot more crime solving.

Season 2- A Scandal in Belgravia, The Hound of Baskerville, The Reichenbach Falls

I can’t say that Season 2 is my favorite because I just love all of them so, so much.

The bad guys in this season are awesome. (I naturally like villains because I’m a villain myself, shh don’t tell, but not everyone may like villains…)

Sherlock and Watson’s friendship has its ups and downs, but it’s realistic. It’s not TV drama. The duo is amazing and funny and the way they solve crimes really shows their individual strengths and weaknesses.

So, the characters are pretty much the same. You learn more about each one though, and if it was just about their characters and no crime solving at all, I would still watch it. XD

The mysteries in this season are so good. Like, so good. You will watch them again and again and again. (I have….)

One of my favorite episodes is The Hound of Baskerville because it is one of my favorite mysteries from the original series. However, don’t think you’ll know what happens. It’s only loosely based off of the story, and has a lot of different elements.

Season 3- The Empty Hearse, The Sign of Three, His Last Vow

I absolutely love this season. There are a lot of surprising plot twists.

When I watched this season, I thought it would be the same old Sherlock-solving-mysteries thing. It IS Sherlock solving mysteries, but there’s a lot more character development, tension, and things you didn’t see coming.

I have to say that this season had a lot of non-sherlocky content. There was a lot that didn’t remind me of the original Doyle books. Which, in some respects, is a good thing. I watched it without stopping because I really needed to know what would happen.

(These reviews just keep getting shorter and shorter. But it’s the same characters, so…)

But yes. There are a lot of plot twists, interesting scenes, captivating dialogue, and awesome Watson-Sherlock teamwork.

Season 4!!- The Six Thatchers, The Lying Detective, The Final Problem

I was so pumped for the new Sherlock season to come out.

It was so good.

There are new sides to our beloved characters that we didn’t see before. There is new background information emerging. There is interesting crimes and BEAUTIFUL REFERENCES TO THE BOOKS!!!  (part of what I loved best about this one.)

Okay. This one had some weird elements. It was a good weird, but it was still weird. It wasn’t the ordinary crime-solving. In fact, there wasn’t a ton of that in this season. But you still get the Sherlock feel, and the characters are as well-done as ever.

We meet a few new characters, which was very nice. Even though our characters are amazing, having the same people gets old.

There’s a lot of development of the old characters too. This season is more fixated on the characters. (but they’re awesome, so.)

And again, amazing, amazing references to the book series and the mysteries and the characters. I loved that so much.

OVERALL!!

Sherlock is an extremely well-done TV show that was written to intrigue, excite, and mesmerize. The actors and actresses chosen did a phenomenal job, and I can’t think of anyone else who would be able to play Sherlock Holmes better than Benedict Cumberbatch or anyone more believable as Dr. Watson than Martin Freeman.

The other side actors and actresses did an AMAZING job as well, and I have a special place in my heart for Mrs. Hudson, played by Una Stubbs.

Oh, and by the way, one of the BEST things about it is:

Each one is 1 hour and 30 minutes long. Somewhere around there. That’s crazy for a TV show, at least in my experience. But you basically have 4 seasons of Sherlock Holmes movies. Who would say no to that??

WARNING!!

If you are uncomfortable watching something that contains a medium number of swear/curse words, suggestive innuendos, violence, and (in one episode: Scandal in Belgravia) revealing apparel, I do not suggest this TV series.

Otherwise, please, please, please watch this show, and be awed that you didn’t watch it before.

Because, if I might add, Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are awesome and Benedict is amazing…. his voice is like so deep… (but how would they pick someone to play Sherlock who doesn’t have an epic voice?!)

Sherlock is definitely one of my favorite series, and they’re episodes you can watch over and over again.

Until next time,

(or until I review that special Sherlock MOVIE that came out last year)

-monkeyeverything-

images-4

Do you seriously want to miss this show?! (pic from google.com) 

3 thoughts on “Movie Reviews, Finally

  1. Yes, please review the movie! I’d love to hear your thoughts on that. It pulled apart my brain.

    I’ve seen just the first episode of season one. People keep saying to watch out for the “bad” episode, and I assume that’s the one you’re talking about, so thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL yes, the movie was kinda confusing. I’ll try to get a review up when I can 😉
      I’ve actually owned the Seasons (1-3) for about a year and I just watched Scandal in Belgravia a few days ago. I was very surprised at the amount of innuendos and questionable material that was in there, especially considering that a lot of young kids watch the show. I would advise caution and keep your finger on the skip button just to be safe XD of course, everyone’s views are different, but I skipped a few scenes just because I had no idea what would be in there.
      Besides that, all the other episodes are fine to watch 🙂
      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

