With Style, My Dear, With Style


This past week I was reading the Harry Potter series (which is amazing, btw) and I was pouring over the pages and just feeling amazed at how vivid each scene was.

And immediately, I thought: “Wow, I wish I could write like this, I’m going to try…”

………

I hope you aren’t like me.

Because when you try to copy someone else’s style, it never works out well.

Here’s my point:

Write with Style, your own style, your own flair, your own personality. 

Not with someone else’s, your very, very own.

Now, a lot of people get confused when they hear this, and they go to their book and try to just write with no preference to grammar or tense or anything.

That is NOT what it means to write with your own style. Your own style doesn’t mean poor grammar, or no commas, or no sentence structure.

Your own style is how you form your images, how you portray characters, how you CREATE characters, even. It’s all you.

This, however, doesn’t give you the liberty to be selfish or inconsiderate. Granted, it is your own book and you can do with it whatever you want. But don’t add something in there that is so completely wrong that it will cause people to hunt you down in the middle of the night and murder you in your bed.

You’ll probably be famous.

But you’ll be dead, so it doesn’t really matter.

(Not saying you shouldn’t stand up for something that is obviously right, but like uplifting kidnappers who kidnap children and murder them? Come on. That’s a little controversial, don’t you think??!!! please know I’m exaggerating and I hope that none of you crazies are reading this and I just gave you an awful idea for a book…)

When I say write with your own style, I mean not to be afraid to be different. Don’t feel like you have to write with the stereotypical plot line or the love triangle. Be who you are through your writing. Use words that you like to use. Paint pictures the way you like to paint them. Don’t try to copy other people.

This doesn’t mean that you can’t try to attempt to follow a good sentence structure or an idea for descriptive paragraphs. That’s not what I’m talking about.

Don’t try to write in a style that is distinctly not your own. For example: Compare J. K. Rowling’s style with J. R. R.  Tolkien’s. (not sure if I spell their names correctly??) 

It would be horrific if J. R. R. Tolkien tried to write Lord of The Rings in Rowling’s style. Like, seriously. That would be a nightmare.

But writing Harry Potter in Rowling’s style… it just works. You know why? Because it was Rowling’s style. The series’ characters and plot line just added to Rowling’s style.

And Tolkien? Even you progressive book people have to admit that trying to write Lord of The Rings in anything other than beautiful, poetic, amazing imagery would be laughable.

(and would cause me to die straightaway in my bed and never get up because I’d be dead)

So.

Have you gotten the point yet?

With Style, My dear, With Style. 

Not just with style.

Your OWN style.

Reflect who you are in your writing.

-monkeyeverything-


!!!!!!!!  P.S. !!!!!!!

If you want to use the quote: With Style, My Dear, With Style, feel free. But please give credit to where it is due, and contact me beforehand.

Otherwise go eat chocolate and feel annoyed you didn’t skip reading this P.S. because it just wasted 30 seconds of your life.

Oops another 5 seconds wasted.

Why are you still reading?

GO AWAY!!

What’s wrong with you… I thought you had more important things to do…

Ummmm….

Okay, you’ve wasted approximately 45-50 seconds of your life.

And by the time you’re finished scrolling down, you’ve wasted a whole minute.

A WHOLE MINUTE!!!!!!

That’s a whole minute you could have used to eat chocolate…

I feel sorry for you if you’re still reading…

…….

……

……

……

……

OOOH OH OH OH I FORGOT

GUESS WHAT???!!!!!!!!!

????

Nothing.

HA HA got you

……………………………….

(this was pointless.)

11 thoughts on “With Style, My Dear, With Style

  1. Oh my goodness, I LOVE this post! I am constantly trying to write in someone else’s style, and it NEVER WORKS. Ever.

    And oh my word kidnappers who kidnap children and murder them???? Plot…ideas…thickening…

    Just kidding, just kidding… (Or am I???)

    But seriously, I absolutely agree with everything in this post. Us writers need to focus on our OWN styles, rather than trying to mimic another’s.

    Also, the P.S. was absolutely hilarious and amazing, and I loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I only had a couple minutes of down time to scroll through and check out what you have going on. Our dear grandmother sent me your link. Didn’t realize you loved chocolate as much as we do! Keep writing and blogging. maybe blog about chocolate? the different types? and tastings? mmmmmm 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

