Writing Month of Insanity


photo-1463171379579-3fdfb86d6285As some of you probably already know, I’m doing NaNoWrimo this month which is probably one of the worst decisions I’ve ever made…

Well, that wasn’t the best way to start out with this post…

Truth is, I’m swamped with work, school, activities and everything else that makes people stressed out.

And now, I’ve committed to write 50,000 words in one month.

Yay for me.

But besides having pity-parties for myself, I’ve been writing probably less than is healthy for me… So don’t be surprised if I don’t make it to the 50k word goal.

But lemme start by introducing my book:

Rebel (and please remember that this title is a work in progress! I still haven’t decided what I should call it.)

In the Book-Room Challenge I somewhat introduced  this book with a horrible summary which revealed nothing about the story and a room that wasn’t very accurate. I will redeem myself. Now, meet my main character:

Alena – She is almost 19, sassy, bored with her life, and thinks she knows pretty much everything about the world. Big mistake! In this book, she discovers that she knows NOTHING and that there is a whole lot outside her scope that is more horrible than she could imagine.

That’s my main character. And I know, she sounds boring and I barely gave you a description of her. (But I don’t want to ruin the book…)

Now in my story, I’m planning on writing a series, the world is dead. Literally as well as figuratively. The government is collapsed, people are living on practically nothing, the food stamps aren’t rationed out evenly so families inevitably starve. And to top it all off, there is a fatal bacteria spreading over the country that has no cure…

And that is Alena’s world.

Hopeless right?

In her journey loved ones die, her trust is broken, people try to kill her, she is estranged from everything she knows, and by the end of the book, everyone hates her.

I’m sorry if I just made you depressed. I like those kinds of books.

But there is still hope!

My main conflict in this book is the bacteria. Yes, the world can cope with a destroyed economy. It always will be able to. But when the government doesn’t have funds or won’t use them, and there is a bacteria that is incurable, people start dropping like flies, and the end of the world becomes inevitable.

So that’s what I’m working on this November.

Tell me if you like my story or not, and if you are doing NaNoWrimo as well, buddy me! My username is monkeyeverything, and I can’t wait to get connected!

Week 1 of NaNoWrimo is already over, and I really, REALLY need to get writing.

Battling creepy creatures called textbooks,

-monkeyeverything-

6 thoughts on “Writing Month of Insanity

Leave a Reply

