When Inspiration Deserts You


imageThat feeling when you can’t write any more. The agony of rocking back and forth, searching the archives of your mind for the next sentence.

As a writer, I’ve felt this many, many times. And if you write, I’m sure you’ve felt it too. It’s that dreaded thing called writer’s block. It’s when the ambitions, ideas, and inspirations that drove you to start that book suddenly wave, say adios, and sail down the road. They leave you stranded with no way to go forward and no way to go back.

Yeah. Depressing, right?

Okay. Different people react in different ways. If you’re like me, you shut your computer off, bang your head against the wall, and vow never to try to write again. If you are one of those people blessed with patience, you sit at your desk and stare at the page, urging your brain to think of something amazing and creative that will give you the boost to keep going. Or you might just turn to stress eating and lock your computer away until you can think of some new hobby.

No matter how you react, you are all faced with the exact same problem. The empty page. The unfinished sentence. So it doesn’t matter how you react. What matters is that you overcome it.

The first time I had writer’s block, I thought that I could never write anything worth reading. I was consumed with the idea that good writers never feel writer’s block. That professional writers always have inspiration and never sit at their computer or notepad feeling completely lost.

I was wrong. Imagine my surprise when I found out that every single writer in the history of the world has experienced writer’s block or something closely resembling it. And I realized something else. There are ways to recover your inspiration and renew the flow of words that you thought was dried up.

Everybody’s different, so I don’t expect the things that work for me will work for everyone. But I still want to share some things that help me when I experience writer’s block while writing a fictional story of some kind.

  1. Write down your basic plot from start to finish. Laying down all the plot twists and cliffhangers helps you get a grip on your story.
  2. Have a trusted friend read your story and share ideas. A different perspective can give your inspiration something to think about.
  3. Take the time to completely empty your mind, and leave your story to fix itself. Giving yourself a few days rest (even a few weeks) helps give your inspiration some time off and charges you with more energy to start again.

Just a few ideas. Try them out and see if they work. A lot of times reading a book or watching an interesting movie will help give you some ideas of what makes up an interesting plot.

Hope your inspiration is doing well!

-monkeyeverything-

61 thoughts on “When Inspiration Deserts You

  1. Howdy! This article couldn’t be written much better!
    Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He continually kept preaching about this. I’ll forward this
    post to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think what you posted was very reasonable.
    But, consider this, what if you composed a catchier post title?
    I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your website, however suppose you
    added a headline that makes people desire more? I mean When Inspiration Deserts You – Witty Writes is kinda boring.
    You ought to glance at Yahoo’s home page and see how they create news titles to get
    viewers to click. You might add a related video or a picture or two to get people interested
    about what you’ve got to say. In my opinion, it might make your
    website a little livelier.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello there! Somebody in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to take a look.
    I’m absolutely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Excellent blog and exceptional style and design.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hello I am so glad I found your site, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Aol for
    something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thank you for
    a tremendous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I
    have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the awesome b. http://www.mangiareperdimagrire.it/?option=com_k2&view=itemlist&task=user&id=2176599

    Liked by 1 person

  5. We absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s
    to be just what I’m looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content for you?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write about
    here. Again, awesome website!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so happy you like my content!!
      Yes, I love guest posts, but I generally try to get to know what things the author/writer prefers to write before allowing access to my blog.
      Thank you for offering, and I hope that you’ll be a regular visitor!!!!
      Thanks for reading! 🙂

      Like

  6. This is my very first time to visit here. I found numerous enjoyable stuff in your weblog, particularly in its discussion. I guess
    I am not the only one having all the entertainment here!
    Keep up the superb work.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You’re so awesome! I don’t suppose I’ve learned anything like this
    before. So great to find any person with some authentic ideas on this subject.
    really thank you for opening this up. this website is a
    thing that is wanted online, someone with a
    little bit originality. useful job for bringing new things to the online world!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow!! Thanks for commenting (I love reading new comments) and I’m so glad you enjoyed the website!!
      If you go under menu and scroll down, I have a list of several blogs that I have followed. Most of them have a lot of the same material and although I can’t recommend one specifically, definitely feel free to check them out! 🙂

      Like

  8. Admiring the hard work you put into your blog and in depth information you provide.

    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material.
    Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I truly love your blog.. Pleasant colors & theme.
    Did you develop this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m attempting to create my own personal blog and want to learn where you got this from or what the theme is called.
    Appreciate it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! Glad you like it. 🙂
      If you sign up for a WordPress account, you will be able to choose your theme and your color scheme. There are many, many free themes to choose from, so choose carefully! But don’t worry, you’ll be able to change the theme if you don’t like it. Also, the one that I edited and spruced up was Ecto.
      Good luck, and I hope it goes well for you!!! 😉 🙂

      Like

  10. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the page layout of your blog?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.

    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so
    people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text
    for only having one or two pictures. Maybe you could
    space it out better?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!!
      Hm, I see what you mean. I do have a rather old layout as my blog theme, and on some devices it’s kinda clustered together and hard to read. I will definitely look into it and try to figure out a better way to display my posts!
      Thanks for the feedback! 🙂

      Like

  11. First off I want to say awesome blog! I had a quick question in which
    I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing.
    I’ve had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out.
    I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to
    15 minutes tend to be lost simply just trying
    to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints? Kudos!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much!
      Hm, it’s always difficult to clear your head before writing… I would suggest finding a peaceful quiet place, reading over whatever you’ve written (if you’ve writen something) and just in general staying quiet and letting everything go.That’s usually what I do when I’m having trouble getting into my “writer’s zone”.
      Ohhhhhh, yes. Trying to figure out how to begin. That’s always tough. Hm. Well, I think it’s different for all writers, but what helps me is taking my idea, and writing one scene. It doesn’t have to be a beginning, or a specific point in the story/poem/idea, but just something that makes your idea start. Generally, when that happens, you start thinking about “Oh, if I have this in the middle, how should I begin it?” and after that, it gets easier. Usually, your brain is working so hard at thinking about an idea and how to begin it, that you’re focusing too hard on it. The creative juices never start to flow. Just having fun with it and writng a short snippet may help you get an idea of how to begin your idea.
      I hope this helps and thank you for the lovely comment! 🙂

      Like

  12. Greetings I am so exccited I fiund your weblog, I really found you by
    mistake, while I was searching on Google for something
    else, Anyways I amm here now and would just like to say thanks for a
    remarkable post aand a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
    time to browse it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added you RSS feeds, so hen I hwve time I will be back to read
    more, Please do keep up thee excellent job.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was super long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to
    the whole thing. Do you have any tips for rookie blog
    writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Uh oh!! Sorry about that! It happens sometimes… 😦
      I’m so happy you’re enjoying it!!! 🙂 🙂
      Hmmmmmmmm, well… always first is to: HAVE FUN!!! XD It’s all about the experience and if you’re not enjoying blogging or writing then you might want to consider writing on a different topic that you’re passionate about!! You shouldn’t have to force yourself to be passionate about somehting… So yeah, the second tip is probably to make sure you’re blogging about something you’re passionate about.
      If what you’re blogging about it just, “eh” to you, then you won’t enjoy it and your blog probably won’t get off the ground very quickly… Also, don’t get bogged down with a schedule!!!! Scheduling is pretty hard and if you’re working or getting through college, then it can add a lot of stress.
      You want to be consistent, but if you have to miss a few posting days, don’t sweat it! It’s your blog and you can do what you want with it 🙂 🙂
      Hope this helped!!! If you have anymore questions, I’d be glad to collab with you! 🙂

      Like

  14. Ꭱight here is the perfect web site for anyone who wisheѕ to ᥙnderstand this topic.
    You realize a wһole lot its almost tougһ to argue with you (not that
    I personally would ѡant to…HaHa). You definitely put a
    new spin on a subject that haѕ been written about for many yeаrs.
    Wonderful stuff, juѕt excellent!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

